Trivia

2017 winner Contentment gave trainer John Size a third win in the Champions Mile. John Moore is the only trainer to have more wins in this race than Size, scoring six times since 2007.

Xtension (2011 & 2012), Able One (2007 & 2010) and Bullish Luck (2005 & 2006) are the three horses to have won the Champions Mile twice.

Brett Prebble notched his third Champions Mile win with Contentment in 2017, making him the most successful jockey in this race. He is followed by reigning champion jockey Joao Moreira and retired rider Darren

Beadman at two wins apiece.

Casino Prince is the only three-year-old to have contested the race since it became an international event in 2005. The Australian colt finished last of nine in 2007.

The total purse of the Champions Mile has been increased to HK\$18 million in 2018, almost four times more than the HK\$4.6 million on offer in its inaugural running in 2001.

The race was ranked equal 65th in the World's Top 100 G1 Races in 2017.

Some 32 overseas horses from eight countries (Australia, France, UK, Japan, Ireland, New Zealand, South Africa and UAE) have contested this race since it was opened to international runners in 2005.

2016 winner Maurice is one of only three overseas horses to have won three races in Hong Kong. Winning this race five months after his success in the 2015 Hong Kong Mile, he completed the trio when taking the Hong Kong Cup later in 2016.

Maurice (2016) and Variety Club (2014) are the only two overseas winners of the Champions Mile. Variety Club won by four lengths, the largest winning margin in the race's history.

Only four favourites have won this race in the last 17 editions, most recently Maurice in 2016 and Able Friend in 2015. The latter, sent off at odds of 1.2, is the shortest-priced winner in Champions Mile history.