Trivia

2017 winner Lucky Bubbles gave his trainer Francis Lui a career-first G1 success. He was also the 16th Australian-bred to win the Chairman's Sprint Prize since it was upgraded to HKG1 status in 1992.

The race was ranked equal 34th, the highest-ranked G1 in Hong Kong and fourth

Australian sprinter Chautauqua created history when he became the first overseas winner of the Chairman's Sprint Prize in 2016.

highest-ranked G1 sprint in the world, in the

2017 World's Top 100 G1 Races list.

Quicken Away is the only horse to have won the Chairman's Sprint Prize three times (1989, 1990 & 1991). Seven others since 1985 won this race twice, the latest being Lucky Nine in 2013 & 2014.

Silent Witness in 2004 and Sacred Kingdom in 2008 are the only two four-year-olds to have won this race since 2000. The last three-year-old to win was Fairy King Prawn in 1999.

Legendary sprinter Silent Witness continued his unbeaten streak, notching his 16th career win (unbeaten) when he won his second Chairman's Sprint Prize in 2005. At the time, he equalled a world record for the modern era with that victory.

Jockey Brett Prebble has an outstanding record in this race, collecting four wins (Lucky Nine 2013 & 2014, Sacred Kingdom 2010, Absolute Champion 2007) and placing on seven other occasions.

Basil Marcus is the most successful jockey in Chairman's Sprint Prize history, having won the race five times. His first win aboard Concert King in 1992 also denied Quicken Away a record fourth win in the race.

While Ivan Allan is the all-time most successful trainer in this race with six wins, John Moore is the most successful active trainer, having notched four wins and 17 placings from 60 runners since 1986. He is followed by Ricky Yiu, the most successful home-grown trainer in this race with three wins.

Tony Cruz rode Ever Win to victory in the inaugural Chairman's Prize in April 1979. He has notched four more victories in this race, two as a jockey and two as a trainer – most recently with Silent Witness in 2005.

Favourites have won 16 of the past 32 editions, including 11 that started even money or shorter. Dim Sum won the 2009 renewal at 50/1 and was the longest-priced winner in that period.