Race History

Sha Tin Racecourse opened its doors in October, 1978, and in line with that new era for Hong Kong racing, an elite 1200m contest was inaugurated. That first edition on 29 April, 1979 was titled the Hong Kong Sprint Championship but a more familiar moniker, the Chairman's Prize, was introduced a year later. The Arthur Ward-trained Ever Win took the first running under Tony Cruz.

By 1989, when Quicken Away won the first of three consecutive renewals, the race was a million-dollar affair - that year's contest being worth HK\$1.032 million, with only the Hong Kong Invitation Cup and Hong Kong Derby holding higher purses. Three years later, it attained HKG1 status and in the 1993/94 season, when the Champion Sprint Series was established, the Chairman's Prize took its natural place as one of the three legs.

It was in 2001 that the race title became the Chairman's Sprint Prize and the purse that year was HK\$4.5 million. In 2007 the race shifted to February from a March/April slot in the calendar, thus becoming the second leg of the Hong Kong Speed Series. The 2016 edition was the first time it was an international G1 contest with prize money upped to HK\$10 million. The race was shifted to a May date - as the final leg of the Hong Kong Speed Series and the fourth leg of the Global Sprint Challenge - to fill the void left by Singapore's discontinued KrisFlyer International Sprint.

The Chairman's Sprint Prize was ranked equal 34th in the World's Top 100 G1 Races in 2017, the highest among all G1s in Hong Kong in that calendar year. Its prize money has been further increased to HK\$16 million in 2018.

Notable winners of the Chairman's Sprint Prize include the world champion sprinters Silent Witness (2004 & 2005) and Sacred Kingdom (2008 & 2010), as well as Fairy King Prawn (1999 & 2001), Joy And Fun (2012) and Lucky Nine (2013 & 2014). In 2016, Australian sensation Chautauqua became the first internationally-trained winner of the race, while 2016 runner-up Lucky Bubbles was able to take the spoils in 2017.

Record Dividends

Bet Type	Dividend (HK\$)	Year	Horse (s)	Odds
Win	\$512.50	2009	Dim Sum	51
Place	\$317.50	2016	Strathmore (3rd)	218
Quinella	\$960.80	1993	Red Ruffian (1st)	9.2
			Happy Money (2nd)	21
Quinella Place	\$1,324.50	2005	Tiber (2nd)	99
			Cape Of Good Hope (3rd)	45
Tierce	\$22,636.00	1993	Red Ruffian (1st)	9.2
			Happy Money (2nd)	21
			Optic Empire (3rd)	11
Trio	\$2,463.00	2016	Chautauqua (1st)	2.8F
			Lucky Bubbles (2nd)	4.3
			Strathmore (3rd)	218
First 4	\$2,850.00	2016	Chautauqua (1st)	2.8F
			Lucky Bubbles (2nd)	4.3
			Strathmore (3rd)	218
			Gold-Fun (4th)	9.4
Quartet	\$40,338.00	2016	Chautauqua (1st)	2.8F
			Lucky Bubbles (2nd)	4.3
			Strathmore (3rd)	218
			Gold-Fun (4th)	9.4