Race History

The Hong Kong Jockey Club's strategy for an elite international end-of-year race day at Sha Tin Racecourse had almost reached its aim by 1999. That year saw the fourth and final international race added to the event, the Hong Kong Sprint, and Fairy King Prawn proved a fittingly top-class first winner. Initially staged as a Listed race, the Hong Kong Sprint attained Group 3 status in 2000 and became a Group 2 one year later. In 2002, the Sprint became the last of the HKIR features to attain Group 1 status, so establishing the four-race Group 1 format we know today.

The race has a most illustrious roll of honour, featuring superstars Silent Witness and Sacred Kingdom from Hong Kong and Japan's greatest sprinter, the exceptional Lord Kanaloa. Each of that trio won the race twice, as did the Australian speedster Falvelon, Hong Kong's Aerovelocity and last year's winner Mr Stunning. The race was ranked equal 42nd in the World's Top 100 G1 races in 2018.

Inaugurated as a straight 1000m contest, the race distance was upped to 1200m in 2006. LONGINES first sponsored the race in 2012 and the prize money was increased to HK\$20 million in 2018.

Record Dividends

Bet Type	Dividend (HK\$)	Year	Horse (s)	Win Odds
Win	\$679.00	2008	Inspiration	67
Place	\$161.00	2013	Sole Power (2nd)	77
Quinella	\$2,449.50	2008	Inspiration (1st)	67
			Green Birdie (2nd)	8.1
Quinella Place	\$897.50	2004	Cape Of Good Hope (2nd)	44
			Natural Blitz (3rd)	66
Tierce	\$65,915.00	1999	Fairy King Prawn (1st)	13
			Crystal Charm (2nd)	29
			Big Jag (3rd)	10
Trio	\$7,677.00	1999	Fairy King Prawn (1st)	13
			Crystal Charm (2nd)	29
			Big Jag (3rd)	10
First 4	\$15,351.00	2012	Lord Kanaloa (1st)	4
			Cerise Cherry (2nd)	10
			Captain Sweet (3rd)	43
			Joy And Fun (4th)	27
Quartet	\$146,634.00	2014	Aerovelocity (1st)	3.9
			Peniaphobia (2nd)	2.8F
			Straight Girl (3rd)	55
			Gordon Lord Byron (4th)	54