Race History

The FWD Champions Mile is the only one of Hong Kong's 12 Group 1 contests to have been established after the turn of the millennium. That first edition came in 2001 and carried a purse of HK\$4.6 million. The race was initially a HKG1 contest, designed as a finale for Hong Kong's star milers, and it was the Brian Kan-trained Red Pepper that scored under Eric Legrix.

International runners were first welcomed in 2005 when the prize money rose to HK\$8 million. In a classic clash of the titans, Bullish Luck edged his great stablemate Silent Witness. That result ended the latter's unbeaten streak that had stretched through 17 races. Bullish Luck became the first two-time winner when he followed-up in 2006.

The Champions Mile attained international G1 status in 2007 and Able One took the spoils, the first of eight wins for the race's most successful trainer John Moore. The Moore-trained galloper triumphed again in 2010, by which time the race was worth HK\$12 million (increased in 2009). Moore rattled off six more wins with Xtension (2011 & 2012), Dan Excel (2013), the great champion Able Friend (2015) and two-time Horse of the Year Beauty Generation (2018 & 2019).

The Caspar Fownes-trained Southern Legend denied Beauty Generation a record three-peat in this race last year, with his rider Vincent Ho also notching a first career G1. The race's total prize money was increased to the current level of HK\$20 million in 2020. The race was ranked equal 51st in the IFHA World's Top 100 G1s in 2020.

South Africa's Variety Club, trained by Mike de Kock, became the first overseas raider to win the FWD Champions Mile in 2014, defeating hot favourite Able Friend. Japanese galloper Maurice joined that list in 2016 when the Champions Mile formed the middle leg of a stellar treble in Hong Kong that included his wins in the 2015 Hong Kong Mile (1600m) and the 2016 Hong Kong Cup (2000m). Other notable winners down the years include Good Ba Ba (2008) and Electronic Unicorn (2003). Insurance brand FWD became the Champions Mile's title sponsor in 2019.

Record Dividends

Bet Type	Dividend (HK\$)	Year	Horse (s)	Odds
Win	\$651.00	2009	Sight Winner	65
Place	\$92.00	2013	Helene Spirit (2nd)	75
Quinella	\$2,105.00	2009	Sight Winner (1st)	65
			Egyptian Ra (2nd)	6
Quinella Place	\$1,070.00	2009	Sight Winner (1st)	65
			Dao Dao (3rd)	27
Tierce	\$103,889.00	2009	Sight Winner (1st)	65
			Egyptian Ra (2nd)	6
			Dao Dao (3rd)	27
Trio	\$8,812.00	2009	Sight Winner (1st)	65
			Egyptian Ra (2nd)	6
			Dao Dao (3rd)	27
First 4	\$6,799.00	2009	Sight Winner (1st)	65
			Egyptian Ra (2nd)	6
			Dao Dao (3rd)	27
			Good Ba Ba (4th)	3
Quartet	\$24,505.00	2017	Contentment (1st)	26
			Beauty Only (2nd)	3.4
			Helene Paragon (3rd)	8.9
			Circuit Land (4th)	32