About HKJC

Racing & Racecourse Entertainment
Font Size

Star Power

Hong Kong is home to some of the world’s leading owners, trainers and jockeys, all of them attracted by Hong Kong’s competitive racing and by some of the best prize money in the world.

Top trainers in recent years include John Size, Caspar Fownes, Frankie Lor, Francis Lui, Tony Cruz and Ricky Yiu.

Overseas jockeys racing in Hong Kong include Zac Purton, Hugh Bowman, Karis Teetan, Lyle Hewitson, Alexis Badel, Luke Ferraris and Antoine Hamelin. Many other top jockeys visit in December for the Hong Kong International Races and International Jockeys’ Championship, as well as in April for Champions Day.

Much of Hong Kong’s racing talent is homegrown, with nearly half of its jockeys being graduates of the Club’s Apprentice Jockeys’ School. Being immersed in the city’s competitive racing environment has led to some notable results. For example, Matthew Chadwick won the Hong Kong Cup in 2011 and 2012, Derek Leung won the Hong Kong Mile in 2017. Meanwhile Vincent Ho partnered Horse of the Year Golden Sixty to nine Group 1 victories in the 2020/21, 2021/22 and 2022/23 seasons. Overseas, Alex Lai won the 2010 Sprinters Stakes in Japan, while Derek Leung won the Asian Young Guns Challenge in 2010.

Several alumni of the Apprentice Jockeys’ School have gone on to become successful horse trainers after careers in the saddle. These include such well-known names as Tony Cruz, Francis Lui, Frankie Lor, Ricky Yiu, Danny Shum and Manfred Man.